Book review: ‘Hullaba Lulu: a Dieselpunk Adventure’

Cover of Hullaba Lulu, with a dancing flapper and two robots standing on either side of her.

Hullaba Lulu: a Dieselpunk Adventure
by Teagan Ríordáin Geneviene

I’ve heard of cyberpunk and steampunk, but dieselpunk was a new term for me. If it’s also new to you, bookriot.com has the helpful article, “What Is Dieselpunk? Why We Love This Sub-genre.” 

However, if you want to save time, here’s the main gist: “Most of dieselpunk is set in, or draws inspiration from the 1920s-40s, specifically between World Wars I and II. Some hallmarks of the sub-genre include advanced machinery, aviation, robotics, and of course, diesel as a source of power.”

Another piece of background: I’ve enjoyed Teagan’s short stories at her blog. She’s creative in blending ingredients from different inspirations, mythologies, and cultures. Not only in her stories, but with visual art. She puts together collages, and her short stories can be described that way as well.

What about this Hullaba Lulu? Teagan says in the book’s blurb that the main character was inspired by “Don’t Bring Lulu,” a song from 1925. You see, Lulu is a flapper from the Roaring Twenties. But we’re not in the regular Roaring Twenties, Toto. 

We start in New York City. In Lulu’s grandfather’s speakeasy, to be specific. We get the sights of the city. We get the taste of giggle water. We get the sounds of the 1920s slang. Bushwa! Horsefeathers! Floorflusher, zozzled, and much more. These are neat for adding flavor of the time period.

The fantastical gets going after Lulu and her friends (Rose and Pearl) meet Valentino (a suave guy reminiscent of swash-buckling movie stars). Valentino owns a magical train that has automaton helpers nicknamed “angel-bots.” Also, the train’s dining car is an automat — a concept that has intrigued me since I heard about it awhile back. 

On the train, Lulu, her friends, grandfather, Valentino, and the angel-bots go on a wild ride of an adventure. They visit an alternate version of Atlantic City. Then, in returning to NYC, they head into an alternate version of the jazzy joint of the Cotton Club. So Lulu is not fully in an Oz-ish fantasy world, but she encounters extraordinary elements. Including a tilt-a-whirl and a painted mural that can transport people to other places.

Lulu is a fun-loving gal who can be a bit clumsy, but mostly she has to be flexible to deal with the incredible changes that happen to her and the group. And she rises to the occasion when help is needed to save Valentino.

Did you enjoy Dorothy and Alice’s journeys into the wondrous? If so, check out Lulu’s journey. It’s unpredictable, and a peach of a story. I mean, c’mon, cheeseburgers are currency in this Atlantic City! A theremin is used for therapeutic purpose. And Nikola Tesla joins the fun. A fantastical ride, indeed.

59 thoughts on “Book review: ‘Hullaba Lulu: a Dieselpunk Adventure’

  1. Great book reviews as always. I’ve mentioned several times in the past that I don’t find much time to read books nowadays, but this one does sound intriguing to me. I enjoy movies set in earlier time periods such as the 1920’s. The 1920’s were definitely an interesting time defined by excessive alcoholism, parties and decadence. There have been several great films that have captured the beauty of this time period. To give an example, the Oscar-winning film “Chicago” offered an insightful peek at the culture of the 1920’s. The musical captured the reckless nature of an era defined by hedonism. It’s very similar in the themes that it explores to “Hullaba Lulu”. If you enjoyed the book, you would love this movie. Here’s why I recommend it highly:

    “Chicago” (2002) – Movie Review

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for visiting, Huilahi. “Hullaba Lulu” is much more fanciful than Chicago — I wouldn’t want you to feel mislead. However, at the end, I included a listing of “Real World Things” that are mentioned in the book. It’s a fairly quick read. Hugs to you and yours.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Dave, this is pos-i-lutely the cat’s pajamas! I had no idea that you were reading Lulu, so I was gobsmacked when you mentioned this wonderful post. I really enjoyed reading your take on the different elements that you brought out here.
    I’ll either reblog or at least include this post in whatever I do for a midweek post next week. Big hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great review, Dave. That was so much fun to read in addition to unloading lots of praise on Teagan’s book. She has such an amazing imagination. I watched this book come to life on her blog and I remember it as a whirlwind of adventure and antics. Congrats to Teagan on the wonderful review.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Neat that you got to see the story unfold on Teagan’s blog. I was impressed by her “Three Things” approach of having other people offer three words, and she incorporated them into the story. Doing that in a short story is one thing, but it must be quite tricky to do in a novel!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. John, you just made me grin. Here’s one of the zanier snippets from the book:

      *** Warm cheddar oozed from the steaming buns.  As the aroma drifted to my nose, my belly growled anew.  I had eaten three of the burgers before I realized I had even finished one.

      Suddenly lights began to flash.  Electric loudspeakers that were installed in every car of the train began blaring part of the song Don’t Bring Lulu!  Rose and Pearl had harnessed me with my nickname, Hullaba Lulu, because of that song.  I hated the song.

      The sound of running feet preceded the appearance of pointy toed patent leather shoes.  Valentino skidded into the automat.  He looked from me to the empty plates in astonishment.

      The loudspeaker blasted, “Don’t bring cash honey.  You pay in cheeseburgers!” ***

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you kindly, Mark. Valentino’s train is filled with fantastic machines, all based on real inventions of (or before) the era.

      Diesel-punk and steampunk are more similar to one another than other punk genres. I did a post on the multiple punk sub-genres a few years ago, “The Punk of Punk.”. I appreciate you visiting and commenting. Hugs.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m familiar with Teagan’s blog and with her stories and your review captures the story perfectly. Not a moment’s boredom, full of surprises and wild and wonderful imagination. Thanks for your recommendation!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks for the review, Dave!

    I adore Teagan’s imagination, have read some of her work and follow her blog.

    Whether it was a serial, a Doors challenge, her current Vintage Vignettes and/or combos, it’s always entertaining.

    I did follow “The Delta Pearl” serial, and will be reading the 2 books it evolved into.

    Again, thanks for the review!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I totally enjoyed Lulu and friends! I also didn’t mind the cheeseburgers, and it’s one of the things I remember about this story, lol. Congrats to Teagan on a wonderful review!

    Like

Leave a comment